Clubs & Activities

30+ Clubs
North Catholic offers over 30 Clubs & Activities for our students to join.
Activity Period is time set aside during the school day to allow for students to meet with a variety of clubs that North Catholic has to offer. This period is a bi-monthly experience that allows for students to participate in extracurricular activities that they may not normally be able to participate in. The purpose of Activity Period is to allow students to find constructive and fun ways to enter into the student life of the North Catholic community. It also helps foster an amicable relationship between students and teachers. Students who participate in Activity Period have the option of choosing between clubs that inspire academic advancement, leadership opportunities, social enhancement or leisure time activities.
 
 

Art Club provides materials, instruction and support for those students who are seeking a creative outlet in addition to their academic schedule. We place an emphasis on students using their artistic talents to benefit their school and community. Projects are driven by the students, and we allow students the opportunity to cultivate their interest in art history by visiting local museums, galleries and exhibitions. 

For more information, please contact: Morgan Bucci mbucci@northcatholic.org

The chess/board game club is an exciting opportunity for students of any age to participate in friendly competition with their peers while testing their wits and luck. The moderators aim to create a fun, competitive, and relaxing atmosphere while students pit themselves against each other for glory. This club welcomes anyone with a good attitude and a desire to be a champion. There is no commitment involved. Come on the days that please you. You can bring your own game from home, or you can use the games that are provided. 

For more information, please contact: Kristy Pietrone kpietrone@northcatholic.org

This club provides NCHS student-athletes with an opportunity grow as leaders, mentors, and followers of Christ.  Through the study of scripture, student-athletes dive into Christian virtues and discuss how they can be implemented both on and off the field.  The goal of Captain's Club is to empower student-athletes to become true disciples who see their sport as an opportunity to evangelize and give greater glory to God. By being centered on Christ, the captains can carry out the mission of the school both on and off the field. 
For more information, please contact: Gabby DeJesus gdejesus@northcatholic.org

Chemistry club is based on applications of the chemistry topics learned in the classroom. Students will learn about topics through laboratory-based experiments and demonstrations. Some of the topics covered include chemistry of cooking, biochemistry, natural and synthetic polymers, and material science. Students have the opportunity to suggest topics or experiments, if they have a particular area of interest within chemistry.

For more information, please contact: Nick Crano ncrano@northcatholic.org

Chess Club is an opportunity for students to expand their knowledge of the game of chess by competing with one another.  They will be able to learn the various strategies behind the game and eventually face off against other schools.
For more information, please contact: Nick Crano ncrano@northcatholic.org
A musically included group that practice the various vocal arrangements in order to eventually perform in front of the public.  These arrangements will often be sung in front of the whole school at school-wide masses.
For more information, please contact: Marta Zak mzak@northcatholic.org
 
 

This club aims to bring the understanding and acceptance of disabilities to our campus by establishing an environment of inclusion and providing opportunities to improve social skills by building multiple circles of friendship with non-disabled peers. Each student with special needs meets with a “circle” of two to three friends from general education. The general education students are there to form relationships with their peers. The program has the dramatic impact of bringing students with disabilities out of isolation and increasing their self-esteem, thus leading them to a more successful and self-sufficient adult life.

For more information, please contact: Cindy Horgan chorgan@northcatholic.org

If you play a Concert Band instrument but couldn't sign up for the class, this is the perfect opportunity to come down and join. Students can learn the music outside of school to prepare for the concerts. Students in the class may come down for extra practice time. 

For more information, please contact: Michael Rudick mrudick@northcatholic.org

Environmental Club is dedicated to conservation awareness and action.  The students will meet twice a month for the entire school year.  During activity period, approximately 20 students will be needed monthly.  These students will go around and collect the paper recycling from the classrooms to take outside to the recycling bin. 

For more information, please contact: Carly Steininger csteininger@northcatholic.org

E-Sports officially stands for Electronic Sports, not to be confused with video games. E-sports takes video gaming to another level with organized competitive gameplay between two teams, governed by its own strict set of rules and guidelines.

For more information, please contact: Eric Chiesa echiesa@northcatholic.org

 

Communities of faith for high school students 

Marianist LIFE (Living InFaith Experience) is a national faith-formation program rooted in Catholic and Marianist tradition and targeted to the needs of high school students. LIFE offers students an opportunity for fellowship and fun in a caring, upbeat context. 

Marianist LIFE provides students at Marianist and non-Marianist institutions opportunities to share faith, to learn from each other, and to become instruments of peace. 

For more information, please contact: Maria Campbell mcampbell@northcatholic.org

This is a club where students can relax by coloring intricate designs using colored pencils or crayons.

Students can receive math related-tutoring. 

For more information, please contact: Kevin Henry khenry@northcatholic.org

Forensics involves all forms of public speaking and debate, including, but not limited to: prose reading, poetry reading, dramatic interpretation, original oratory, impromptu speaking, congressional debate, and public forum debate.  Students compete on a regular basis for individual and team recognition (state and national levels as well).

For more information, please contact: Beth Young byoung@northcatholic.org

We are mindful of God's command to be responsible stewards of creation and so we will explore how as  responsible, ethical, and virtuous sportsmen and women we contribute to and sustain the gift of the created world and its woods and wildlife.  And so, the Outdoor Club seeks to instill a love of the outdoor pursuits - fishing, hunting, foraging, conservation, camping, etc.  Our meetings will involve prayer, education and discussion, and planning for activities and meetings in the woods and waters of the Western Pennsylvania region and working with other NC clubs engaged in similar interests and activities.  
For more information, please contact: Chris Bayardi cbayardi@northcatholic.org
This club plays moderate to high energy games.  It's basically a gym class for those who cannon get enough physical activity.
For more information, please contact: Darin Lyles dlyles@northcatholic.org

Ping-Pong Club is for anyone who wants to play and have a good time. Depending on turn-out for each meeting, we may play a bracket to decide a champ, or just take turns playing singles or doubles. All ability levels are welcome, and we encourage everyone to learn-as-they-go to play by official table-tennis rules (as best as we can).

For more information, please contact: Jon Hoffman jhoffman@northcatholic.org

PJAS (Pennsylvania Junior Academy of Science) is a competition where students in grades 6-12 present original independent research in many areas in science and math. PRSEF stands for the Pittsburgh Regional Science and Engineering Fair. Each year students in grades 6–12 present their independent research projects in the fields of science, mathematics and engineering. In both competitions, students begin work on their projects in early fall and compete in February for PJAS and late March for PRSEF. Winners in the local PJAS competition move on to compete at Penn State in May. Winners of PRSEF continue on to compete at the International Science and Engineering Fair later in the year.

For more information, please contact: Amy Murray amurray@northcatholic.org

The mission of the robotics program at NC is Building students of creativity, leadership, and professionalism – connecting them to a future enlightened by their STEM experiences. We aim to accomplish this by investing students in FIRST Robotics, a wholistic program in which teams of students design, build and compete with their robots. It’s about more than just robots. It is about sharpening character traits such as gracious professionalism. It’s about networking with peers and industry professionals from around the globe. And, it’s about problem solving in a project-based learning environment as they carry out projects and develop leadership skills. 

For more information, please contact: David Yackuboskey dyackuboskey@northcatholic.org

Our self-defense club is an opportunity for students to learn self-awareness and practical techniques in a safe environment.  Self- defense club provides Taekwondo techniques with real-world scenarios.
For more information, please contact Emma Ventresca or Casey Stapleton: eventresca@northcatholic.org or cstapleton@northcatholic.org 
SPARK Club - or Strengthening Positivity and Reinforcing Kindness - and is sponsored by the national non-profit organization, the Smile Project.  SPARK Club is dedicated to spreading happiness, service projects, and making the halls of North Catholic a kinder place to be. 
For more information, please contact: Krista Tozier ktozier@northcatholic.org
 
The purpose of STEM Explorers is to expose North Catholic students to the many and varied career fields and opportunities that exist beyond high school in the areas of Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math.  Through hands on activities and guest speakers, students will explore some of the many topics and possible career paths in these fields.  
For more information, please contact: Dan Dougherty ddougherty@northcatholic.org

Do you have dreams of bantering with Alex Trebek on Jeopardy?  Or are you someone who simply enjoys knowing that an aglet is the proper term for the plastic tip at the end of a shoelace?  The NC Trivia team welcomes both the casual trivia fan and those seeking a more competitive outlet for their vast stores of knowledge.  Meetings will consist of answering trivia questions or preparing for competitions such as College Bowls, the Academic Triathlon, and KDKA's Hometown High Q.  This club is open to students of all grade levels. 

For more information, please contact: Sean Malone smalone@northcatholic.org

This is a study hall that is completely silent and focused on academic work.

SPIKE BALL

World Language club offers students an opportunity to explore other cultures through interactive meetings with speakers, videos, activities, and food. Meetings are usually focused on holidays, language, traditions, or food. Students can also choose to go on trips abroad to Winter Carnival in Canada or the Europe trip to France, Spain, and Italy. There is a small fee to help cover the cost of food. 

For more information, please contact: Tressa Denninger tdenninger@northcatholic.org

The yearbook club is an opportunity for students to get involved with the design and creation of our school yearbook.  The club is selective and limited to 8.  Only those truly committed to working will be invited to stay.  However, once a student makes the commitment, they will have the opportunity to become photographers, design layouts, and complete book pages.  This club will run all year.  Students in this club should also expect to do some work outside of the designated club time.

For more information, please contact: Katie Coley kcoley@northcatholic.org

This is a laid-back study hall in the cafeteria that allows students to interact, converse, eat, and hang out.  Students also have the ability to collaborate with each other on schoolwork.